Skip to content
Truro Counts — Truro, in numbers.Local help →

Truro · England

People and living standards

Cornwall council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Cornwall

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Cornwall local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 469,540 in 1991 to 584,782 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Cornwall council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 479,017 people in 1996; 584,782 people in 2025. 22.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Cornwall council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991469,540
1992471,059
1993472,707
1994475,425
1995478,400
1996479,017
1997483,206
1998486,089
1999490,563
2000495,373
2001499,937
2002504,644
2003508,579
2004511,810
2005515,098
2006517,984
2007521,957
2008524,973
2009526,365
2010529,794
2011533,760
2012537,411
2013540,061
2014543,778
2015547,334
2016551,203
2017556,921
2018559,961
2019563,695
2020565,045
2021571,948
2022575,248
2023578,961
2024582,205
2025584,782
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Cornwall council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 91,073 people in 1996; 91,514 people in 2025. 0.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Cornwall council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199190,044
199290,533
199391,070
199491,662
199591,660
199691,073
199791,502
199891,561
199992,235
200092,267
200192,292
200292,425
200392,297
200491,671
200590,924
200690,382
200790,443
200890,058
200989,621
201089,742
201189,975
201290,521
201390,634
201490,966
201591,297
201691,821
201792,652
201892,917
201993,362
202092,702
202192,940
202293,392
202393,381
202492,626
202591,514
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Cornwall council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 291,758 people in 1996; 338,554 people in 2025. 16% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Cornwall council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991287,458
1992287,722
1993287,774
1994289,296
1995291,332
1996291,758
1997294,730
1998296,394
1999299,769
2000303,627
2001307,059
2002310,313
2003313,595
2004316,599
2005319,786
2006322,552
2007325,176
2008326,405
2009325,877
2010326,609
2011327,287
2012325,424
2013324,377
2014324,259
2015324,972
2016325,912
2017328,348
2018329,159
2019329,798
2020330,157
2021333,916
2022334,495
2023336,294
2024337,406
2025338,554
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Cornwall council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 96,186 people in 1996; 154,714 people in 2025. 60.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Cornwall council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199192,038
199292,804
199393,863
199494,467
199595,408
199696,186
199796,974
199898,134
199998,559
200099,479
2001100,586
2002101,906
2003102,687
2004103,540
2005104,388
2006105,050
2007106,338
2008108,510
2009110,867
2010113,443
2011116,498
2012121,466
2013125,050
2014128,553
2015131,065
2016133,470
2017135,921
2018137,885
2019140,535
2020142,186
2021145,092
2022147,361
2023149,286
2024152,173
2025154,714
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 570,305 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Cornwall · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh4,0320.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,0580.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups7,0301.2%
White552,13096.8%
Other ethnic group6,0551.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 532,273 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Cornwall · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White522,84898.2%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups4,4000.8%
Asian/Asian British3,4340.6%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British7620.1%
Other ethnic group8290.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 499,114 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Cornwall · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White494,15599%
Mixed2,2920.5%
Asian/Asian British9690.2%
Black/Black British7560.2%
Chinese/Other9420.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 5.1% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Cornwall council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,654 per person in 1997; £24,630 per person in 2024. 155.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Cornwall council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,654
19989,876
199910,035
200010,491
200111,065
200211,442
200311,651
200412,050
200512,495
200613,113
200713,670
200814,032
200914,276
201014,774
201115,043
201215,356
201315,750
201416,158
201516,706
201617,100
201717,755
201818,301
201918,955
202019,334
202120,378
202221,516
202323,202
202424,630
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Cornwall council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -9% in 1997; -5.1% in 2024. 3.9 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Cornwall council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-9
1998-8.8
1999-11.3
2000-11.9
2001-10.6
2002-9.6
2003-10.6
2004-11.2
2005-11.1
2006-10.5
2007-10.9
2008-10.9
2009-10.8
2010-8.5
2011-7.7
2012-9.1
2013-10.1
2014-10.6
2015-12.2
2016-11.2
2017-9.9
2018-10.3
2019-10
2020-7.9
2021-6.7
2022-6.3
2023-5.1
2024-5.1
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

18.4%

21 March 2021 · Cornwall local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

16.3%

21 March 2021 · Cornwall local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.2%

21 March 2021 · Cornwall local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£276,000

July 2026 · Cornwall local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,000

August 2026 · Cornwall local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.